Tala Lee-Turton

Life at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy

Almost time!

fml-8076-41.jpgIt’s Thursday; my last day at home before the flight. I’m finding it a bit hard to relax as I keep double and triple checking things in my head but also because the imminence of what’s going to happen keeps creeping up on me. I’m so excited; I can’t wait to just arrive, learn the routines and absorb the culture.

Looking back over my summer, I feel it’s been the best I’ve ever had; it has been the first (and, in all likelihood, last!) summer holiday where I’ve been able to properly relax. I finished my GCSEs, so there was no revision, and I deliberatley didn’t participate in all the usual, hectic summer schools that I would normally do, as I wanted to only train in the Russian ballet style at Bristol Russian Ballet School where I have trained intermittently over the past couple of years. I made sure that I saw everyone I wanted to see and did everything I wanted to do- I caught up with all my oldest friends and visited my favourite places.

There has still been work to do, though, in the form of fundraising. I’ve been incredibly lucky to be at the receiving end of such generosity from all those who have donated sponsorship for me- thank you, I appreciate your kindness so much!- however I have still had to fundraise on top of those contributions. My mum organised a raffle, two bag packs at local supermarkets, a bake sale and a sponsored Zumba, which was hard work but all worth it in the end!

As a result, funds have met the target for the first year although there are still three more years to go so fundraising will have to continue, hopefully along with support from elsewhere!

I feel as prepared as I’ll ever be: I’ve been practising my Russian everyday so hopefully I’ll be alright with the basics! and I’ve been making a conscious effort to go to bed early so I can wake up progressively earlier each day, eventually leading up to that 2:30 am start tomorrow!

I can’t believe it’s so close now!

2 comments on “Almost time!

  1. paula mcgowan
    August 30, 2012

    Good luck Tala, we will all be thinking about you and wish you all the best of luck xxx

  2. Ruth Adams
    August 31, 2012

    Hope you settle in really quickly and enjoy every minute. And don’t worry – we will look after your mum. Take care and hope it is everything you imagine.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 30, 2012 by in About Moscow and tagged , .
