Tala Lee-Turton

Life at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy

A Vegetarian in Moscow

Funnily enough, my most worrying thought before I headed out to Moscow was that I would have to stop being vegetarian. I’d been warned by so many- some very forcefully- that I would not be able to survive without eating meat or fish.

I’ve been vegetarian all my life; when I was old enough, deciding to remain so for moral reasons, therefore the thought of changing my lifelong way of eating was a big issue!

At Jaggernath restaurant

Luckily enough, however, I’ve not only managed to eat in the academy perfectly well, with my sourcing of tofu in a nearby supermarket, but have discovered, along with a fellow veggie, the most amazing vegetarian restaurant in Moscow!

It’s called Jaggernath and, after setting eyes on the place last Sunday, my friend and I have been hooked- the choice of food was incredible, with mainly Indian dishes being served in a hippy environment. It was all served buffet-style with a section for salads, then soups, then more substantial curries, stews and dumplings – I was like a kid in a sweet shop!

Mango lassi

I ate a tofu and beansprout salad, black gram dal, palak paneer and another paneer and tomato dish; it was amazing! And not to mention the mango lassi and the burfi-like deserts!

Plus, the prices were extremely reasonable. So, needless to say, we’ve decided to go back with a load more of us!

I know for sure, now, that a veggie can live happily in Moscow!

2 comments on “A Vegetarian in Moscow

  1. tutusbymonica
    October 5, 2014

    wow !!! interesting – I am vegetarian also. x

    • Tala Lee-Turton
      October 5, 2014

      Oh I didn’t realise- it’s always nice to know a fellow veggie! X

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2012 by in About Moscow, Vegetarian Restaurants in Moscow and tagged , , , .
