Tala Lee-Turton

Life at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy

Staatsballett and Sightseeing in Berlin!

Whilst competing at Tanzolymp 2015 (see my post here), in Berlin, I also had the chance to appreciate Staatsballett’s production of Sleeping Beauty fully outfitted in Nacho Duato’s new choreography – it really was a beautiful spectacle with fabulous sets and costumes. Tchaikovsky’s traditional music was left alone, however, apart from a few moments of necessary resemblance to Petipa’s original choreography, the rest took the classical style in an entirely new direction. Though I didn’t recognise it as typical Duato, the choreography possessed a flare and experimental quality that only he could have created.  Below is the link to the trailer:

Making the most of being in Berlin, I visited the Yumiko store.  Yumiko make the best fitting dance leotards in the most amazing colour combinations; probably because they are designed by a dancer.  When you spend all day, every day in leotards, it’s important to feel good in them!

Yumiko store Berlin - Tala Lee-Turton

At the Yumiko store in Berlin

I also saw some of the famous sights of Berlin Including the Berlin Wall, Checkpoint Charlie, Museum Island, the Brandenburg Gate and Berlin Cathedral.  The hotel I was staying in was right next to the famous TV tower – so it was always easy to find our way home!

I also, of course, tried out some fabulous foodie places including a Vietnamese restaurant called Monsieur Vuong and a great vegan restaurant (discovered by my friend, Michelle) called Kopps that blew my mind!

At Monsieur Vuong, Vietnamese restaurant.

At Monsieur Vuong, Vietnamese restaurant.

Gorgeous mango and raspberry smoothies at M Vuong.

Gorgeous mango and raspberry smoothies at M Vuong.

I also couldn’t visit Berlin without experiencing the Ritter Sport Factory where you can make your own chocolate bar!

My chocolate block being made at the Ritter Sport Factory :)

My chocolate bar being made at the Ritter Sport Factory 🙂

Collecting ritter

Collecting my made-to-order chocolate bar!

I really was sad to leave Berlin; every moment I spent there was spectacular!  I hope to do the competition again next year so I’ll be able to see more!

7 comments on “Staatsballett and Sightseeing in Berlin!

  1. Pingback: Performing at Tanzolymp 2015 | Tala Lee-Turton

  2. pamt1
    March 1, 2015

    It looks a fascinating city.( Food looks good, too! )

    • Tala Lee-Turton
      March 1, 2015

      It really is! Haha yes, it’s impossible to eat badly in Berlin!🍴🍫🍰

  3. Susan
    March 1, 2015

    Hi. My favourite city too. Did you get to K de W at all 😄? Susan x

    • Tala Lee-Turton
      March 2, 2015

      Hi Susan – no I didn’t! I had really limited time to sightsee as I was so busy with the competition so just stuck to the main bits. Hope you are well and hope to see you in the Summer 🙂 x

  4. Mike Martin
    March 4, 2015

    Thanks for the latest, Tala. Its always great to receive these updates. Not only doing so well, but also looking so genuinely happy! Yes, Berlin is a great city and I have spent some pretty good times there myself. Keep smiling! 😉

    • Tala Lee-Turton
      March 8, 2015

      Your welcome, Mike! Thank you! I hope to have more adventures such as Tanzolymp in the near future to tell you about😃 oh then you’ll know very well what a fantastic city Berlin is! I’m glad you liked the post- hope you enjoy the photos I’m in the process of posting of my variations😃

Leave a Reply

