Tala Lee-Turton

Life at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy

Final year character exam – Bolshoi Ballet Academy 2016

April 20th 2016 and my state exams are completed!  As with all major life events, it seemed as if they were unavoidable and yet, at the same time, destined never to actually arrive.  And yet now I know the feeling of accomplishment, with just my academic exams to go before I become a full graduate of the Bolshoi Ballet Academy.

Tala Lee-Turton Bolshoi Ballet Academy - Final year character exam 2016

With Nastia after the exam!

Tala Lee-Turton Bolshoi Ballet Academy - Final year character exam 2016

My class

Tala Lee-Turton Bolshoi Ballet Academy - Final year character exam 2016

With my character teacher

I finished my set of state exams with character, in which we performed a barre followed by several different pieces showcasing everyone’s range in the class.  I was the soloist in the Hungarian dance and tarantella, while being part of other ensemble dancers such as the mazurka and gypsy dance – see the YouTube videos at the end of the post.

Tala Lee-Turton Bolshoi Ballet Academy - Final year character exam 2016

Getting my costumes ready

Tala Lee-Turton Bolshoi Ballet Academy - Final year character exam 2016

Last minute stretching!

Tala Lee-Turton Bolshoi Ballet Academy - Final year character exam 2016

Getting ready to start the exam

It was a very emotional moment when the exam had finished as out teacher, Tatiana Vitalyevna, congratulated us all. It is an end of an era and one that I will always value for the skills I have learned along the way.

YouTube link to my Tarantella:

YouTube link to other excerpts from the exam:

See more photos here.

4 comments on “Final year character exam – Bolshoi Ballet Academy 2016

  1. pamt1
    April 24, 2016

    How far you’ve come& how much you’ve achieved in those 4 years! Well done xxx

  2. jennhulme
    April 24, 2016

    Congratulations Tala xx

  3. Pingback: More photos from my character exam | Tala Lee-Turton

Leave a Reply

