Tala Lee-Turton

Life at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy

Final year acting exam – Bolshoi Ballet Academy 2016

March 25th 2016 saw the completion of my first final year state exam in acting.  Always a good one to begin the run of exams with, the state acting exam consist of various pieces of repertoire being performed that enable us to show our range and abilities in the very specific art of acting in classical (and perhaps, not-so-classical) dance.

After much deliberation, I settled on two solos that I thought best portray me as a multi-faceted performer: the scene from John Neumeier’s the Little Mermaid in which the eponymous mermaid comes to terms with her new legs and, from Yacobson’s Spartacus, the scene in which his wife, Phrygia, discovers his dead body – see the performances on the YouTube links below:

In addition, the acting exam began and ended poignantly with the whole class reacting to the incredibly moving music of Miyazaki’s animation, Spirited Away.  As a last touching note, Tamilla Vladimirovna wanted us to write personal messages on a scroll so that she would have a memento of the three years we spent working together.

Tala Lee-Turton - Bolshoi Ballet Academy Acting Exam

I was awarded a five and received notable recognition for my Phrygia piece; the members of the committee, which included Marina Konstantina Leonova, the Rector of the Academy, cried!  It was a wonderful start to the exam season and yet also a rather sad one as it was our last ever acting class with Tamilla at the Academy!

Tala Lee-Turton - Bolshoi Ballet Academy Acting Exam

With Tamilla – my acting teacher.

See photos from my character exam here.

See photos from my duet exam here.

See photos from my ballet exam here.

9 comments on “Final year acting exam – Bolshoi Ballet Academy 2016

  1. pamt1
    April 27, 2016

    Such moving performances xxx

  2. jennhulme
    April 27, 2016

    Tala the first piece was absolutely mesmerizing brought goose bumps out!!! xx

  3. Amanda Evans
    April 28, 2016

    We have never met Tala (I know your Mum) and I hope you are both very proud of your amazing achievements. I am sure will stay with you for life. Well done! I cannot wait to see what you do next.

    • Tala Lee-Turton
      April 29, 2016

      Hi Amanda – thank you very much – that’s a really lovely thing to say. My Mum says thank you too 🙂

  4. Pingback: Final Year Ballet Exam Photos – Bolshoi Ballet Academy 2016 | Tala Lee-Turton

  5. Pingback: More photos from my character exam | Tala Lee-Turton

  6. Pingback: More photos from my duet exam | Tala Lee-Turton

Leave a Reply

