Tala Lee-Turton

Life at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy

TLT Ballet Masterclasses 2016

To book masterclasses click on the link – TLT Masterclasses

I’ve just completed my masterclasses and private lessons this week.  During the month of July, I taught two masterclasses of 8 – 11 year olds and two of 12 and over.  I also taught lots of one-to-one private classes.  There were over 100 students in total!

Tala Lee-Turton Masterclasses

Day 1 – junior class

I found teaching these girls extremely rewarding and lots of fun.  Not only was I so proud when I noticed improvement but it was also a really valuable experience by way of enabling me to self-correct and train better by myself in the gym.

Tala Lee-Turton Masterclasses

Day 2 – junior class

I tried to tailor my private classes to fit the needs of each individual student.  My main goal was to instil the basic principles of the Russian technique that I’ve learned over my four years at the Bolshoi in Moscow; namely, the importance of turn out.

Tala Lee-Turton Masterclasses

Day 2 – junior class

The masterclasses on the other hand gave me the opportunity have a little more fun with the rep class at the end of the day.  For the younger class, I taught the Bluebird variation from the Sleeping Beauty and for the older girls, Kitri’s third act variation from Don Quixote which involved much persistence on mastering the rather specific fan movements.

Days 3 and 4.

The standard of work was really high and I awarded certificates to the girls who i thought really stood out although it was difficult to choose because they were all so good.  I hope to be able to do some more classes in the future but that will now depend on my work commitments.

Days 3 and 4 awards.

Below is a link to the film that ITV Calendar produced when they came along to day 2 of the masterclasses:

http://www.itv.com/news/calendar/update/2016-07-26/barnsley-ballerina-tala-lee-turton-returns-to-her-roots/

 

13775891_10153992948714915_5767987254128129462_n

ITV Calendar filming day 2

Day 2 ITV Calendar fliming

ITV Calendar fliming day 2

2 comments on “TLT Ballet Masterclasses 2016

  1. pamt1
    August 7, 2016

    Pleased the classes went so well….lovely comments from girls who attended on FB xxx

    • Tala Lee-Turton
      August 13, 2016

      I know! I got some lovely feedback by e mail and messenger aswell – it’s so lovely that so many of the students and their parents appreciated the classes and felt they benefited from them 🙂

Leave a Reply

