Tala Lee-Turton

Life at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy

Life as a professional ballet dancer …

I find it hugely satisfying to be able to say that after four years of intensive training at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy, I’ve now made a start on my career as a professional ballet dancer.  I’m thoroughly enjoying leading a more independent life; one where I return to my new flat in Moscow every evening and reflect on my full day of rehearsals for upcoming performances whilst soaking up the hustle and bustle offered by the centre of Moscow.

img_0450

My first venue – International House of Music, Moscow.

My day usually starts at 10am with company class, after which we rehearse all the upcoming shows until 5pm.  My first performance was in Moscow followed by my first tour which took place in Belarus.  We’ll be continuing with an extensive tour of Russia leading up to a December and January tour in Italy, which I’m really looking forwards to.

When we’re on tour we train at the theatre that we will be performing in; starting with the usual ballet class and then moving onto rehearsals.  We travel in a tour bus most of the time!  The journeys are often long and during the night so can be quite tiring but also fun when our artistic director starts an impromptu sing-a-long!  We also get great service at the hotels we are staying in for the Russian tour; everyone in Russia loves ballet dancers!

The company performs a wide ranging repertoire; so far I’ve performed in Snow White, Cinderella, Carmen, Polovtsian Dances, Giselle, Nutcracker, Romeo and Juliet and later we’ll be dancing Swan Lake.  Most enjoyable for me was dancing Giselle which has been a dream of mine since it’s one of the great classics.  I’m also looking forwards to dancing Swan Lake as this has been an aspiration for as long as I can remember.

Tala Lee-Turton, Bolshoi Ballet Academy, professional ballet dancer, Carmen

Getting ready to perform in Carmen.

Above, on stage and in costume for Giselle.

Above, on stage and in costume for Polovtsian Dances.

Tala Lee-Turton Bolshoi Ballet Academy Nutcracker

Chinese, Spanish and Waltz dancers – Nutcracker

I’m also really pleased to have performed in my first Nutcracker as a professional with a soloist part – the Chinese dance!

Tala Lee-Turton Bolshoi Ballet Academy; Romeo and Juliet

Romeo and Juliet

Overall this is an exciting time in my life – full of new possibilities which I am keen to grasp!

 

 

6 comments on “Life as a professional ballet dancer …

  1. jennhulme
    October 20, 2016

    Well done Tala – I can’t wait for the opportunity to see you perform – Good luck xx

  2. Monica Newell
    October 20, 2016

    Very interesting for us to read about life as a professional dancer in Russia . Thank you so much for sharing. Congratulations – what an amazing achievement to be given a place with a Russian Ballet Company. Lets hope they tour to UK

    • Tala Lee-Turton
      October 21, 2016

      Thank you, Monica – we’ll be touring in Ireland and Northern Ireland next year xxx

  3. tutusbymonica
    October 20, 2016

    Very interesting for us to read about life in a Russian Ballet Company. Must be unbelievably hard work ! Congratulations and thank you for sharing.

  4. renew or redo
    January 27, 2017

    Saw my first ballet live this year.. amazing work you dancers do.. I love the ballet and looking forward to seeing all ballets that come in my area… great work hope see you perform

Leave a Reply

